Some Reads August 10

I love the artists of the 1920’s and knew I had to read Everyone Was So Young after a review in The Boston Globe. Be warned this is not a fast read. Now during the summer I don’t read in big blocks of time, I get a few minutes between groups at camp and such. (I honestly get more time when I am riding the subway everyday.) However, this book has taken me forever to get through. AND I’m still not done!

Don’t let the length or my little rant scare you, this is an awesome read! It gives you an honest insight into the lives of the Murphy’s, Hemingway’s, and Fitzgerald’s. The stories are not always beautiful and polished, but they are true. Most of it is based off of letter correspondence and personal journals. But lucky for me and you, it doesn’t read like the academic or textbooks that haunt our experience of non-fiction.

Don’t be discouraged if it takes you a while to read, I had to put it down, read a little fiction, then picked it back up and loved it again.

Author: Amanda Vail

Days to read: MONTHS